Myers-Briggs: Being an INFJ

infj-headd5a910042ad8e4786c9eb37cd0dc047e

I love learning about myself. And in learning about myself, I never pass up an opportunity for growth and a developed sense of self-awareness Out of the 16 personality types, I have the Introverted iNtuitive Feeling Judging personality type, or the INFJ.

So what does this actually mean? First off, my preference percentages are roughly nine percent Introversion, 13 percent iNtuition, 51 percent Feeling and 31 percent Judging, and preference percentages are everything. They determine where a person rests and how likely they are to reflect certain traits typical of their personality type. Someone with a high percentage of introversion for example is less likely to enjoy parties than someone with a lower percentage.

The Textbook INFJ™ is quiet, reflective, caring and ethereal. They want the best for people and the world around them, and many times, are natural leaders. After all, people like Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Ghandi are typed as INFJ’s. But as we all know, no one is a textbook definition: we are all unique with specific preferences and styles. While I may prefer an INFJ way of thinking, feeling and conducting myself, I also have a unique spin on the four aspects of my personality type. I’ve decided to break down how these four elements affect my being.

1. Introversion

I consider myself a social introvert. While I love people, and I can dish a fair amount of pleasant charm, I also love alone time. I don’t like being lonely, but being alone in small doses is crucial to my well-being. People burn through my energy (sorry, love y’all), and I need time to reflect, absorb and recharge. Many people misunderstand what introversion actually means. It doesn’t mean I’m anti-social or impossibly shy, I’m just slow to warm and use energy to interact with people that must be recovered on my own terms.

giphy-3

2. iNtuition

While facts are a critical part of my thought-process, and my five senses necessary for evaluation, I rely on my underlying gift of intuition in all decision making. I’m incredibly keyed-in to situations, and can sense what people are feeling and thinking almost innately—I just sorta know. I pick up on energy; I pick up on vibes. Luckily, my intuition never leads me astray. Instead, it makes me an imaginative idealist, which leads to endless possibilities.

giphy-2

3. Feeling

This part of my personality is where I feel most like the common description of an INFJ. I am sensitive, loving and emotional. I am passionate, caring and considerate. I am sentimental, conscious and empathetic. I want justice in the world, and that’s because it is what I feel is right. I lean on my emotions first and foremost, but I am still capable of balancing them with logic and rationale. It’s a gift, really. While I am the first to cry, I’m also the first to laugh. While I feel deeply, and have had my feelings crushed many, many times, I bounce back with an unwavering resilience every time.

giphy-1

4. Judging

Last is the judging component of my personality. This is where the distinction between an INFJ and INFP becomes apparent. When I was younger, I always typed as an INFP, but as I grew older and began to know myself in the Adult World™, I’ve typed as an INFJ ever since. The INFP is much more fluid because they are perceiving personalities. P’s tend to be more spontaneous, flexible and uncomfortable with leadership than J’s. Being a J makes me practical, ambitious and focused. It allows me to set clear goals and develop a plan to follow them through. While these are positive, It can make me jump to conclusions quickly, and even cause me to behave rigidly. Quite frankly, I hate when life doesn’t go according to plan, but I’m proud to say I have been working on this.

giphy

So, this is me in a nut shell. These four components help explain how I operate and why. I’m not perfect, but I appreciate myself for who I am, and at least my personality type keeps things interesting.

(Images from Pinterest, GIFs from giphy.com, content from Star Trek Deep Space 9, True Detective, Anchor Man and All About Eve)

Leave a Reply

